position

Open Letter: Facebook, Do Your Part Against Disinformation

Along with 26 other organisations AlgorithmWatch has signed Mozilla's Open Letter to Facebook, telling them to make good on their promise to provide more transparency around political advertising ahea…

Is Facebook making a sincere effort to combat disinformation? Or, is the social media platform shirking its duties?

Facebook promised European lawmakers and users it would increase the transparency of political advertising on the platform to prevent abuse during upcoming elections. But in the very same breath, they took measures to block access to transparency tools that let users see how they are being targeted.

With the 2019 EU Parliamentary Elections on the horizon, it is vital that Facebook fight back against the spread of online disinformation. So today, Mozilla and 27 other organizations — including AlgorithmWatch, Access Now and Reporters Without Borders — are publishing an open letter to Facebook.

Read the full letter, here or below. The letter will also appear in the Thursday print edition of POLITICO Europe.

The letter urges Facebook to make good on its promise to EU lawmakers. Last year, Facebook signed the EU’s Code of Practice on disinformation and pledged to increase transparency around political advertising. But since then, Facebook has made political advertising more opaque, not more clear.

Disinformation is one of the gravest threats to a healthy internet. It sows division, undermines trust in the web, incites violence, unfairly sways elections, and more. The EU is hardly exempt — in recent years, rampant disinformation interfere with high profile elections in France, The Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Austria, and Hungary.

Disinformation spreads like wildfire on big platforms like Facebook. And so Facebook must be part of the solution. Users and voters across the EU have the right to know who is paying to promote the political ads they encounter online; if they are being targeted; and why they are being targeted.

A black and white illustration of three web browser screens with a hypnotic sphere, an 'x', and television bars in each screen.

Open letter to Facebook

 

Dear Facebook:

We are writing you today as a group of technologists, human rights defenders, academics, journalists and Facebook users who are deeply concerned about the validity of Facebook’s promises to protect European users from targeted disinformation campaigns during the European Parliamentary elections. You have promised European lawmakers and users that you will increase the transparency of political advertising on the platform to prevent abuse during the elections. But in the very same breath, you took measures to block access to transparency tools that let your users see how they are being targeted.

In the company’s recent Wall Street Journal op-ed, Mark Zuckerberg wrote that the most important principles around data are transparencychoice and control. By restricting access to advertising transparency tools available to Facebook users, you are undermining transparencyeliminating the choice of your users to install tools that help them analyse political ads, and wielding control over good faith researchers who try to review data on the platform. Your alternative to these third party tools provides simple keyword search functionality and does not provide the level of data access necessary for meaningful transparency.

Actions speak louder than words. That’s why you must take action to meaningfully deliver on the commitments made to the EU institutions notably the increased transparency that you’ve promised. Promises and press statements aren’t enough; instead, we need to see real action over the coming months, and we will be exploring ways to hold Facebook accountable if that action isn’t sufficient.

Specifically, we ask that you implement the following measures by 1 April 2019 to give developers sufficient lead time to create transparency tools in advance of the elections:

  • Roll out a functional, open Ad Archive API that enables advanced research and development of tools that analyse political ads served to Facebook users in the EU.
  • Ensure that all political advertisements are clearly distinguished from other content and are accompanied by key targeting criteria such as sponsor identity and amount spent on the platform in all EU countries.
  • Cease harassment of good faith researchers who are building tools to provide greater transparency into the advertising on your platform.

We believe that Facebook and other platforms can be positive forces that enable democracy, but this vision can only be realized through true transparency and trust. Transparency cannot just be on the terms with which the world’s largest, most powerful tech companies are most comfortable.

We look forward to the swift and complete implementation of these transparency measures that you have promised to your users.

Sincerely,

Mozilla Foundation

 

Signed by:

Access Now
AlgorithmWatch
All Out
Alto Data Analytics
Article 19
Aufstehn
Bits of Freedom
Bulgarian Helsinki Committee
Campax
CIPPIC
Civil Liberties Union for Europe
Civil Rights Defenders
de clic
doteveryone
Estonian Human Rights Center
Free Press Unlimited
MobLab
Open Data Institute
Open Media
PROVIDUS
Reporters Without Borders
Skiftet
SumOfUs
Transparent Referendum Initiative
Uplift
Urgent Action Fund for Women’s Human Rights
WhoTargetsMe

Published: February 11, 2019

Category: position

Position

Offener Brief an Facebook: Für Transparenz und gegen Desinformation

Zusammen mit mehr als 30 weiteren Organisationen hat AlgorithmWatch den Offenen Brief von Mozilla an Facebook unterzeichnet. Darin fordern wir, dass Facebook sein Versprechen einlöst und im Vorfeld de…

Unternimmt Facebook ernsthafte Anstrengungen, um Desinformationen zu bekämpfen? Oder entzieht sich die Social-Media-Plattform ihrer Verpflichtungen?

Facebook hat den europäischen Gesetzgebern und Nutzern versprochen, die Transparenz der politischen Werbung auf der Plattform zu erhöhen, um Missbrauch bei bevorstehenden Wahlen zu verhindern. Aber im selben Atemzug ergreift Facebook Maßnahmen, um den Zugang zu Transparenzinstrumenten zu blockieren, die es Nutzern ermöglichen, Einblicke zu erhalten, wie ihre persönlichen Daten zu Werbezwecken erfasst und zusammengeführt werden (targeting).

Angesichts der bevorstehenden EU-Parlamentswahlen 2019 ist es entscheident, dass Facebook die Verbreitung von Online-Desinformationen bekämpft. Deshalb veröffentlichen Mozilla und 27 andere Organisationen – darunter AlgorithmWatch, Access Now und Reporter ohne Grenzen – heute einen offenen Brief an Facebook.

Lesen Sie den vollständigen Brief hier oder unten. Der Brief wird außerdem am Donnerstag in der Printausgabe der POLITICO Europe erscheinen.

In dem Offenen Brief fordern wir Facebook aufgefordert, sein Versprechen an die EU-Gesetzgeber einzuhalten. Im vergangenen Jahr unterzeichnete Facebook den EU-Praxiskodex für Desinformation und verpflichtete sich zu mehr Transparenz in der politischen Werbung. Aber seitdem hat Facebook die politische Werbung undurchsichtiger und nicht transparenter gemacht.

Desinformation ist eine der größten Bedrohungen für ein gesundes Internet. Sie schafft Spaltung, untergräbt das Vertrauen in das Netz, schürt Gewalt und beeinflusst Wahlen mit unfairen Mitteln.  Die EU ist keine Ausnahme – in den letzten Jahren beeinträchtigten zunehmende Desinformationen die Wahlen in Frankreich, den Niederlanden, Italien, Deutschland, Österreich und Ungarn.

Desinformation verbreitet sich wie ein Lauffeuer auf großen Plattformen wie Facebook. Und deshalb muss Facebook Teil der Lösung sein. Nutzer und Wähler in der gesamten EU haben das Recht zu erfahren, wer für die politische Werbung zahlt, auf die sie online treffen und ob ihre Daten für zielgerichtete Werbung verwendet werden.

Ein offener Brief an Facebook

Sehr geehrtes Facebook,

wir schreiben Ihnen heute als eine Gruppe von Technologen, Menschenrechtsaktivisten, Akademikern, Journalisten und Facebook-Nutzern, die zutiefst besorgt sind über die Gültigkeit von Facebooks Versprechen, Nutzer in Europa während der Wahlen zum Europäischen Parlament vor gezielten Desinformationskampagnen zu schützen. Sie haben den europäischen Gesetzgebern und Nutzern versprochen, dass Sie die Transparenz politischer Werbung auf der Plattform verbessern und Missbrauch während der Wahlen verhindern werden. Im gleichen Atemzug blockieren Sie aber den Zugang zu Transparenzwerkzeugen, mit denen Ihre Nutzer sehen können, wie sie für Anzeigen ausgewählt werden.

In einem Gastartikel in der Zeit schrieb Mark Zuckerberg kürzlich, dass die wichtigsten Prinzipien für Daten TransparenzWahlfreiheit und Kontrolle seien. Durch Zugangsbeschränkungen auf Transparenzwerkeuge für Werbung, die Facebook-Nutzern zur Verfügung stehen, untergraben Sie Transparenznehmen Ihren Nutzern die Wahlfreiheit, Werkzeuge zu installieren, die ihnen bei der Analyse politischer Werbung helfen, und üben Kontrolle über wohlmeinende Forscher aus, die versuchen, Daten auf der Plattform zu überprüfen. Ihre Alternative zu diesen Werkzeugen von Drittanbietern bietet nur einfache Suchmöglichkeiten nach Stichworten und verfügt nicht über den Grad an Datenzugriff, den echte Transparenz braucht.

Taten sagen mehr als Worte. Darum müssen Sie dafür sorgen, dass Ihre Versprechen an die EU-Institutionen glaubhaft umgesetzt werden, dies betrifft insbesondere die versprochenen Verbesserungen bei der Transparenz. Versprechen und Presseerklärungen reichen nicht, wir brauchen in den kommenden Monaten Taten und werden prüfen, wie wir Facebook zur Verantwortung ziehen können, wenn die Maßnahmen nicht ausreichen.

Wir bitten insbesondere darum, dass Sie bis zum 1. April 2019 die folgenden Maßnahmen umsetzen, um Entwicklern genug Zeit zu geben, um vor den Wahlen Transparenzwerkzeuge zu entwickeln:

  • Setzen Sie eine funktionierende, offene Ad Archive API um, die erweiterte Untersuchungen und Entwicklung von Werkzeugen ermöglicht, die politische Werbung analysieren, welche Facebook-Nutzern in der EU angezeigt wird.
  • Sorgen Sie dafür, dass alle politischen Werbeanzeigen eindeutig von anderen Inhalten zu unterscheiden sind und dass wichtige Kriterien für die zielgerichtete Werbung, wie die Identität des Sponsors und der in allen EU-Ländern auf der Plattform investierte Betrag angezeigt werden.
  • Stoppen Sie die Verfolgung wohlmeinender Forscher, die Werkzeuge entwickeln, um der Werbung auf Ihrer Plattform mehr Transparenz zu verleihen.

Wir glauben, dass Facebook und andere Plattformen positive Auswirkungen haben und die Demokratie fördern können, aber diese Vision kann nur durch echte Transparenz und echtes Vertrauen erreicht werden. Transparenz darf sich nicht nur daran orientieren, was den größten und mächtigsten Technologieunternehmen der Welt genehm ist.

Wir freuen uns auf die schnelle und vollständige Umsetzung dieser Maßnahmen für mehr Transparenz, die Sie Ihren Nutzern versprochen haben.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen

Mozilla Foundation

 

Mitunterzeichner:

Access Now
AlgorithmWatch
All Out
Alto Data Analytics
Article 19
Aufstehn
Bits of Freedom
Bulgarian Helsinki Committee
Campax
CIPPIC
Civil Liberties Union for Europe
Civil Rights Defenders
de clic
doteveryone
Estonian Human Rights Center
Free Press Unlimited
MobLab
Open Data Institute
Open Media
PROVIDUS
Reporters Without Borders
Skiftet
SumOfUs
Transparent Referendum Initiative
Uplift
Urgent Action Fund for Women’s Human Rights
WhoTargetsMe

Veröffentlicht: 11. 2. 2019
Kategorie: Position

Kommentieren

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *