DataSkop

A joint project by AlgorithmWatch, European New School of Digital Studies, University of Paderborn, University of Applied Sciences Potsdam & medialepfade.org…

DataSkop will be a platform for data donations used to examine and scrutinize algorithmic decision-making systems and to strengthen the users’ digital autonomy. The aim of the project is to empower individuals to handle their data in an informed way, to act safely in digital environments, and to understand and algorithmic systems in use.

Our goals

Data donations have become a valid method to investigate the way algorithmic systems work – even without having direct access to them. Users can donate their data individually, for example when using social media platforms, credit scoring services or when shopping online. In this way it is possible to shed light on the black-box algorithms of these systems and to understand how they render recommendations, evaluations and decisions. The project DataSkop will provide an infrastructure for this purpose.

Newsrooms, research institutions and NGOs can use DataSkop to analyze algorithmic decision-making systems on the basis of data donations. To minimize the technical hurdles for such investigations, we are establishing DataSkop as a platform that offers a large part of the required functionality from the ground up. Institutions and organizations can use DataSkop to carry out their own data donation projects and to encourage data donors to participate. The donated data itself is collected in compliance with data protection regulations and can then be accessed by the initiators of the particular project.

DataSkop is a joint project, lead and coordinated by AlgorithmWatch. In cooperation with the European New School of Digital Studies (European University Viadrina), we implement our first own data donation projects and determine the functionality of the platform more precisely. The Department of Design of the University of Applied Sciences Potsdam will develop the visualization concepts. The University of Paderborn and the organization Mediale Pfade will develop media pedagogical concepts and workshops in which DataSkop will be used as a learning tool. The three-year project is funded by Germany’s Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) as part of the program “Mensch-Technik-Interaktion” (human-technology interaction).

Looking for ideas for data donation projects

In spring 2021, we will launch the first data donation project on the platform. And we are already looking for further users of DataSkop. If you are interested in carrying out a data donation project with your organization, newsroom or research institution, please contact us! We are happy to support you in the development and implementation.

Let us keep you posted and subscribe to updates about project, such as the launch of the first DataSkop data donation, events and publications.

 

 

Partners

 

 

Project manager

Sana Shah
shah@algorithmwatch.org

 

Funded by

Welcome to our DataSkop team: Sana, Rachel and Johannes

team

The team of the new DataSkop project at AlgorithmWatch: Sana Shah, Rachel Brochado and Johannes Filter…

AlgorithmWatch is supported by

DataSkop

Verbundprojekt von AlgorithmWatch, der European New School of Digital Studies, der Universität Paderborn, der Fachhochschule Potsdam & medialepfade.org…

Mit DataSkop entsteht eine Plattform für Datenspenden, um mit deren Hilfe algorithmische Entscheidungssysteme zu untersuchen und die digitale Souveränität der Nutzer·innen zu stärken. Wir wollen die Kompetenzen des Individuums stärken und Menschen dazu befähigen, informiert mit Daten umzugehen, sicher in digitalen Umgebungen zu agieren, algorithmische Strukturen zu erkennen und diese in ihren Grundzügen zu verstehen.

Unser Vorhaben

Datenspenden haben sich als sinnvolle Methode etabliert, um die Funktionsweise algorithmischer Systeme zu untersuchen – auch ohne direkten Zugang zu ihnen zu haben. Nutzer·innen können individuell ihre Daten spenden, beispielsweise bei der Nutzung sozialer Medien sowie von Verkaufsplattformen und Finanzauskunfteien. Dadurch ist es möglich, Licht in die Black-Box-Algorithmen dieser Systeme zu bringen, um zu verstehen, wie sie Empfehlungen, Bewertungen und Entscheidungen berechnen.

Redaktionen, Forschungseinrichtungen und Nichtregierungsorganisationen können DataSkop nutzen, um mithilfe von Datenspenden algorithmische Entscheidungssysteme zu untersuchen. Um die technischen Hürden für solche Untersuchungen niedrig zu halten, etablieren wir DataSkop als Plattform, die bereits einen Großteil der benötigten Funktionalität anbietet. Institutionen und Organisationen können damit eigene Datenspendeprojekte durchführen sowie Datenspender·innen zur Teilnahme gewinnen. Die gespendeten Daten selbst werden datenschutzkonform eingesammelt und sind dann für die Initiatoren des jeweiligen Projekts abrufbar.

Doch DataSkop ist noch mehr. Die Nutzer·innen sollen nicht nur ihre Daten spenden, sondern sie können vor der eigentlichen Spende erkunden, was an ihren Daten interessant, erkenntnisreich und wertvoll ist – kurz: was mit den Daten herausgefunden werden soll. Die DataSkop-Plattform kann in verschiedenen Visualierungsformaten die Daten der Nutzer·innen für jedes Projekt präsentieren und interaktiv in einer eigenständigen Desktop-App zugänglich machen – im Detail wie unter einem Mikroskop oder aufgefächert wie in einem Kaleidoskop.

DataSkop ist ein Verbundprojekt und wird von AlgorithmWatch koordiniert. In Zusammenarbeit mit der European New School of Digital Studies (Europa-Universität Viadrina) setzen wir erste eigene Datenspendeprojekte um und bestimmten die Funktionalität der Plattform genauer. Der Fachbereich Design der Fachhochschule Potsdam wird die Visualisierungskonzepte entwickeln. Die Universität Paderborn und der Verein Mediale Pfade erarbeiten medienpädagogische Konzepte und Workshops, in denen DataSkop als Lernwerkzeug eingesetzt werden soll. Das dreijährige Vorhaben wird durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) im Rahmen des Programms Mensch-Technik-Interaktion für digitale Souveränität gefördert.

Ideen für Datenspendevorhaben gesucht

Im Frühjahr 2021 wird das erste, vom Verbund initiierte Datenspendeprojekt auf der Plattform starten. Doch wir suchen schon jetzt andere Nutzer·innen von DataSkop. Wenn Sie Interesse daran haben, ein Datenspendeprojekt mit Ihrer Organisation, Redaktion oder Forschungseinrichtung durchzuführen, melden Sie sich bei uns! Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung.

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden und abonnieren Sie hier regelmäßige Updates zum Projekt, wie den Start der ersten Datenspende, Veranstaltungen und Veröffentlichungen.

 

Verbundpartner

 

 

 

Projektmanagerin

Sana Shah
shah@algorithmwatch.org

 

Gefördert durch:

aufgrund eines Beschlusses
des Deutschen Bundestages

 

 

Unser DataSkop-Team: Willkommen, Sana, Rachel und Johannes

Team

Das Team des neuen AlgorithmWatch-Projekts DataSkop: Sana Shah, Rachel Brochado und Johannes Filter…

AlgorithmWatch wird gefördert durch