Governing Platforms

A plethora of regulatory attempts are underway – at EU level and in member states – to mandate Facebook, Google, Twitter, YouTube and other intermediaries to patrol content, by blocking unwanted posts, or ensure plurality and non-discrimination of sources. The reason: the influence of intermediaries on public discourse is perceived as overly powerful and damaging. However, it is doubtful whether current strategies will succeed in strengthening public discourse.

Engaging with civil society and other stakeholders in a participatory design process, we will develop innovative governance/policy proposals and other tools that we will then feed into the EU and member states’ policy processes.

Objectives are

  • Short-term:
    Identify the negative effects intermediaries have on the public discourse, develop a joint understanding of these effects among participating organisations and the wider civil society, and come up with adequate and effective ideas and policy proposals to mitigate these effects.
  • Medium-term:
    Implement these ideas and policy recommendations by presenting, discussing and actively advocating for them both in Brussels and in the member states.
  • Long-term:
    To preserve a public discourse that enables and supports the deliberative processes necessary for a democracy to function properly.

 

Project manager

Mackenzie Nelson
mn@algorithmwatch.org

 

Publications

Are Algorithms a Threat to Democracy?
The Rise of Intermediaries: A Challenge for Public Discourse

Professor Dr. Birgit Stark and Daniel Stegmann, M.A.
with Melanie Magin, Assoc. Prof. & Dr. Pascal Jürgens

 

Designing platform governance: A normative perspective on needs, strategies,
and tools to regulate intermediaries

Prof. Dr. Matthias Cornils

 

 

Project partners

 

Funded by

 

 


The only way to hold Facebook, Google and others accountable: More access to platform data

publication

An effective regulatory framework for intermediaries cannot be achieved without meaningful transparency in the form of data access for journalists, academics and civil society actors. This is the resu…

First stakeholder convening of the Governing Platforms Project to take place in October

project

On 8 October, the first stakeholder convening of the Governing Platforms Project will take place in Brussels. Over the course of the 18-month project, selected stakeholders from civil society, the pri…

AlgorithmWatch is supported by

Governing Platforms

Hey Researcher·innen! Wurden Sie von Plattformen ignoriert? Erzählen Sie uns von Ihren Erfahrungen!

 

Über Governing Platforms

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Regulierungsversuchen – auf EU-Ebene und in den Mitgliedstaaten -, um Facebook, Google, Twitter, YouTube und andere Intermediäre zu verpflichten, Inhalte zu kontrollieren, etwa indem unerwünschte Beiträge blockiert werden oder gefordert wird, die Pluralität und Nichtdiskriminierung von Quellen zu gewährleisten. Der Grund: Der Einfluss von Intermediären auf den öffentlichen Diskurs wird als übermächtig und schädlich empfunden. Es ist jedoch zweifelhaft, ob es mit den aktuellen Strategien gelingen wird, den öffentlichen Diskurs zu stärken.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Zivilgesellschaft und anderen Akteuren werden wir in einem partizipativen Entwicklungsprozess Vorschläge für innovative Governance-Maßnahmen sowie weitere Instrumente entwickeln, die wir dann in die politischen Prozesse der EU und der Mitgliedstaaten einbringen werden.

Die Ziele:

  • Kurzfristig:
    Wir identifizieren negative Auswirkungen von Intermediären auf den öffentlichen Diskurs, entwickeln ein gemeinsames Verständnis dieser Effekte zwischen den teilnehmenden Organisationen und der breiteren Zivilgesellschaft und erarbeiten geeignete und wirksame Ideen und Vorschläge für politische Maßnahmen, um diese Effekte zu verringern.
  • Mittelfristig:
    Wir setzen Konzepte und Handlungsempfehlungen um – durch Präsentation, Diskussion und aktive Advocacy-Arbeit sowohl in Brüssel als auch in den Mitgliedsstaaten.
  • Langfristig:
    Wir sichern einen öffentlichen Diskursraum, der die Beratungsprozesse, die für eine funktionierende Demokratie erforderlich sind, ermöglicht und unterstützt.

 

Publikationen

Are Algorithms a Threat to Democracy?
The Rise of Intermediaries: A Challenge for Public Discourse

Professor Dr. Birgit Stark und Daniel Stegmann, M.A.
mit Melanie Magin, Assoc. Prof. & Dr. Pascal Jürgens
Mai 2020

 

Designing platform governance: A normative perspective on needs, strategies,
and tools to regulate intermediaries

Prof. Dr. Matthias Cornils
Mai 2020

 

Operationalizing Research Access in Platform Governance
What to Learn from Other Industries?

Jef Ausloos, Paddy Leerssen, Pim ten Thije
Juni 2020

Projektmanagerin

Mackenzie Nelson
mn@algorithmwatch.org

 

Projektpartner

 

Gefördert von

 

Wurden Sie von Plattformen ignoriert? Erzählen Sie uns von Ihren Erfahrungen!

Kampagne

Regelmäßig weigern sich Plattformen, Daten für Forschung von öffentlichem Interesse zur Verfügung zu stellen – Researcher·innen werden ignoriert. Kommt Ihnen das bekannt vor? Erzählen Sie uns von Ihre…

AlgorithmWatch-Studie widerlegt ‘DSGVO-Ausrede’ von Facebook

Publikation

Die Datenschutz-Grundverordnung steht dem Zugang zu Plattformdaten für Forschungszwecke nicht im Weg. Eine neue Studie von AlgorithmWatch zeigt anhand von Fallbeispielen aus dem Gesundheits- und Umwel…

Der einzige Weg, um Facebook, Google und Co. zur Rechenschaft zu ziehen: Mehr Zugang zu Plattformdaten

Publikation

Die Schaffung wirksamer regulatorischer Rahmenbedingungen für Internediäre ist nur mit angemessener Transperenz möglich – in Form von Datenzugang für Journalisten, Akademiker und zivilgesellschaftlich…

Erster Workshop des Projekts ‚Governing Platforms‘ im Oktober

Projekt

Am 8. Oktober findet das erste Treffen des Projekts Governing Platforms in Brüssel statt. Ausgewählte Vertreter*innen aus der Zivilgesellschaft, dem Privatsektor und der Wissenschaft sowie politische…

AlgorithmWatch wird gefördert durch