report

Out now: “Automating Society” – our report on ADM in the EU

On 29 January we published our new report Automating Society – Taking Stock of Automated Decision-Making in the EU, which was produced in collaboration with the Bertelsmann Stiftung and with the…

On 29 January we published our new report Automating Society – Taking Stock of Automated Decision-Making in the EU, which was produced in collaboration with the Bertelsmann Stiftung and with the support of the Open Society Foundations.

The report is now available (in English) at www.algorithmwatch.org/automating-society/

Launch event in the European Parliament

At the invitation of MEPs Liisa Jaakonsaari (S&D), Julia Reda (Greens/EFA) and Michał Boni (EPP), we presented the report on 29 January at the European Parliament in Brussels. The results were commented on by MEPs and then discussed by experts. The report was also presented at the Privacy Camp and at the CPDP Conference. Read the full programme of the event in the European Parliament can be found here (PDF) and watch the video of the presenation and discussion here (YouTube):

 

About the report

Systems for automated decision-making or decision support (ADM) are on the rise in EU countries: Profiling job applicants based on their personal emails in Finland, allocating treatment for patients in the public health system in Italy, sorting the unemployed in Poland, automatically identifying children vulnerable to neglect in Denmark, detecting welfare fraud in the Netherlands, credit scoring systems in many EU countries – the range of applications has broadened to almost all aspects of daily life.

This begs a lot of questions: Do we need new laws? Do we need new oversight institutions? Who do we fund to develop answers to the challenges ahead? Where should we invest? How do we enable citizens – patients, employees, consumers – to deal with this?

For the report “Automating Society – Taking Stock of Automated Decision-Making in the EU”, our experts have looked at the situation at the EU level but also in 12 Member States: Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands Poland, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK. We assessed not only the political discussions and initiatives in these countries but also present a section “ADM in Action” for all states, listing examples of automated decision-making already in use.

This is the first time a comprehensive study has been done on the state of automated decision-making in Europe.

Read the report

Published: January 29, 2019
Category: report

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Supported by

Report

Jetzt lesen: “Automating Society” – Unser Report zu ADM in der EU

Am 29. Januar haben wir unseren neuen Report Automating Society – Taking Stock of Automated Decision-Making in the EU veröffentlicht, der in Zusammenarbeit mit der Bertelsmann Stiftung und mit U…

Am 29. Januar haben wir unseren neuen Report Automating Society – Taking Stock of Automated Decision-Making in the EU veröffentlicht, der in Zusammenarbeit mit der Bertelsmann Stiftung und mit Unterstützung  der Open Society Foundations entstanden ist.

Der Report ist ab sofort (in englischer Sprache) verfügbar unter www.algorithmwatch.org/en/automating-society/

Launch-Event im Europäischen Parlament

Auf Einladung der Europaabgeordneten Liisa Jaakonsaari (S&D), Julia Reda (Greens/EFA) und Michał Boni (EPP) haben wir den Report am 29. Januar im Europäischen Parlament in Brüssel präsentiert. Die Ergebnisse wurden von den Abgeordneten kommentiert und  anschließend von Experten diskutiert. Darüber hinaus wurde der Report auf dem Privacy Camp und auf der CPDP Conference vorgestellt. Das vollständige Programm der Veranstaltung im Europäischen Parlament finden Sie hier (PDF). Das Video der Präsentation und der Diskussion finden Sie hier (YouTube):

 

Über den Report

Systeme automatisierter Entscheidungsfindung oder Entscheidungsunterstützung (ADM) sind in den EU-Ländern auf dem Vormarsch: Profiling von Bewerbern auf der Grundlage ihrer persönlichen E-Mails in Finnland, Zuweisung von Behandlungen für Patienten im öffentlichen Gesundheitswesen in Italien, Kategorisierung von Arbeitssuchenden in Polen, automatische (preventive?) Identifizierung von potenziell vernachlässigten Kindern in Dänemark, Detektion von Sozialbetrug in den Niederlanden, Kreditwürdigkeitsprüfungssysteme in vielen EU-Ländern – das Anwendungsspektrum hat sich auf fast alle Aspekte des täglichen Lebens ausgeweitet.

Das wirft viele Fragen auf: Brauchen wir neue Gesetze? Brauchen wir neue Aufsichtsinstitutionen? Wen fördern wir, um Antworten auf die anstehenden Herausforderungen zu erhalten? In welche Bereiche sollen wir investieren? Wie können wir es den Bürgern – Patienten, Arbeitnehmer, Verbraucher – ermöglichen, damit umzugehen?

Für den Bericht “Automating Society – Taking Stock of Automated Decision-Making in the EU” haben unsere Expert*innen die Situation auf EU-Ebene, aber auch in 12 Mitgliedsstaaten untersucht: Belgien, Dänemark, Finnland, Frankreich, Deutschland, Italien, Niederlande, Polen, Slowenien, Spanien, Schweden und Großbritannien. Wir haben nicht nur die politischen Diskussionen und Initiativen in diesen Ländern erfasst und evaluiert, sondern stellen im Abschnitt “ADM in Action” für alle Staaten vor, welche Beispiele bereits verwendeter automatisierter Entscheidungsprozesse es gibt.

zum Report (Englisch)

Published: January 29, 2019

Category: Report

Kommentieren

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *