Supervisory Board

Prof. Dr. LL.M. (Yale) Katharina de la Durantaye

Photo: Kristina Penner, CC BY 4.0

Katharina de la Durantaye holds the chair for Private Law, Business, Competition and Intellectual Property Law at Free University Berlin. Her work focuses on digital communication technologies—she is particularly interested in questions of intellectual property, including their international and comparative aspects. She studied law and humanities at Università degli Studi di Bologna, Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. In 2003, she received her doctorate from Humboldt-Universität – her thesis focused on early forms of copyright law in Ancient Rome, and was awarded Legal Book of the Year 2005. That same year, she obtained a Master of Laws from Yale Law School. She taught at Boston University School of Law, Columbia Law School and St. John’s University School of Law. From 2010 to 2018, she was assistant professor at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. In her second book (habilitation), she explored the German Civil Code’s rules on contract formation from a law and economics perspective. Between 2018 and 2021, she held the chair for Private Law and Private Media Law at European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Oder).

Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger

Photo: Kristina Penner, CC BY 4.0

Attorney-at-law, former Federal Minister for Justice Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger studied law in Göttingen and Bielefeld. The first state examination in law in 1975 was followed by the second examination in 1978. Between 1979 and 1990, Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger worked at the German Patent Office in Munich, lastly as Head Government Director. In 1990 she was elected to the German Bundestag for the FDP and two years later became Federal Minister of Justice. She resigned from this position in 1996 following the coalition’s decision in favour of the “electronic eavesdropping operation” and focused on her work as a member of parliament. She was, among other roles, legal policy spokeswoman for the Bundestag parliamentary group and deputy parliamentary group leader between 2001 and 2002 and from 2005 to 2009. In the 17th parliamentary term, Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger was once again appointed Federal Minister of Justice. She was active in state politics from 2000 to 2013 as Chairwoman of the Bavarian FDP, and in federal politics from 1992 to 2013 as a member of the FDP Presidium, most recently as Deputy Federal Chairwoman. Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger is deputy chairwoman of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom since 2018 and since 2019 non-judicial constitutional judge in Bavaria.

Dr. Steffen Wenzel

Photo: Kristina Penner, CC BY 4.0

Steffen Wenzel is executive director of politik-digital e.V. / He studied politics and geography at the University of Gießen, where he received his doctorate in the subject of modern youth cultures. Since 2002 he works as a communications consultant focusing on online communication and project development as well as a moderator for talks and webinars. At Wenzel is engaged in different roles since 1999. In addition, he is founder and partner of Hartplatzhelden GmbH, which operates a video and community platform for amateur soccer players at

Sign up for our Community Newsletter

For more detailed information, please refer to our privacy policy.