Christina Elmer


Christina Elmer is Professor of Digital Journalism and Data Journalism at TU Dortmund University. Previously, she worked in various positions in the editorial department of SPIEGEL, most recently as deputy head of development. From 2017 to 2019, she was part of the editorial team of SPIEGEL ONLINE. She is the second chairwoman of the association "Netzwerk Recherche" and was named "Science Journalist of the Year 2016" by "medium magazin." She also worked as a data journalist in the Investigative Research team at Stern magazine and at the Deutsche Presse-Agentur, and as a trainee at Westdeutscher Rundfunk in Cologne and Münster. Studied journalism and biology at TU in Dortmund.

Angela Müller

Head of Policy & Advocacy | Executive Director AlgorithmWatch CH

Angela Müller

Angela heads AlgorithmWatch’s Policy & Advocacy team and is Executive Director of AlgorithmWatch CH in Zurich. She focuses on the implications of algorithms on human rights and society – and their governance at the international level, the European level, and the domestic level in Switzerland. She has testified as an expert before the Council of Europe, the German Bundestag and the Swiss Parliament, and was appointed as one of “100 Women in AI Ethics” worldwide in 2024. She is a member of expert working groups of the Swiss Federal Administration and – next to her role at AlgorithmWatch – of the Federal Media Commission. Angela studied political philosophy and ethics and holds a PhD in Law from the University of Zurich, where her research focused on the cross-border applicability of human rights law in the context of globalization and new technologies. She was a visiting researcher at Columbia University, New York, and Hebrew University, Jerusalem. Prior to her current role, she held positions at different universities, for an innovation platform, a civil society think tank on foreign policy, and Swiss Foreign Ministry.

Matthias Spielkamp

Executive Director, Co-Founder & Shareholder

Photo: Julia Bornkessel, CC BY 4.0

Matthias Spielkamp is co-founder and executive director of AlgorithmWatch (Theodor Heuss Medal 2018, Grimme Online Nominee 2019). He testified before committees of the Council of Europe, the European Parliament, the German Bundestag and other institutions on automation and AI and was a member of the Global Partnership on AI (GPAI) from 2020-2022. Matthias serves on the governing board of the German section of Reporters Without Borders, the advisory councils of Stiftung Warentest, Freudenberg Stiftung and the Whistleblower Network and the Expert Committee on Communication/Information of Germany’s UNESCO Commission. He was a fellow of ZEIT Stiftung, Stiftung Mercator and the American Council on Germany. Matthias is editor of the Automating Society reports and has written and edited books on the automation of society, digital journalism and Internet governance. He holds master’s degrees in Journalism from the University of Colorado in Boulder and in Philosophy from the Free University of Berlin.

Sign up for our Community Newsletter

For more detailed information, please refer to our privacy policy.