news

Volkswagen Foundation funds new AlgorithmWatch project with planning grant

New project of AlgorithmWatch and TU Braunschweig aims to Bridge the structural competence gap for AI in HR.

Starting in May 2019, Volkswagen Foundation supports a planning project by AlgorithmWatch and Technische Universität Braunschweig that aims to Bridge the structural competence gap for AI in HR. The planning grant is part of the funding initiative Artificial Intelligence and the Society of the Future. In collaboration with the Institute for Mathematical Optimization, the Institute for Information Systems and the Institute for Software Engineering and Automotive Informatics of the TU Braunschweig, we will identify and develop means that will ensure that automated decision-making systems in HR are used with the expertise required.

 

About the project

Using algorithmic decision making and decision support, in particular, by so-called artificial intelligence in human resource is a prime example of algorithms strongly affecting society as a whole and the everyday life of individuals in highly sensitive areas. Society has developed well-balanced decision processes to ensure labour rights, company interests, and data protection. When introducing algorithmic decisions or decision support in human resource management, the lack of competence for assessing algorithms, in particular, artificial intelligence, leaves these legitimate processes dysfunctional. The competence gap is not the fault of individuals failing to acquire sufficient information. Often the vendors of algorithmic solutions are unable to explain relevant details. Standards and assessment tools are not available. The competence gap is structural.

The project is based on the belief that the legitimate decision processes must not be replaced or bypassed. They must be re-enabled. The goal of the project is to identify and partly develop means to bridge this gap, such as:

  • a catalogue of questions for quality and applicability of algorithms
  • catalogues of competences for users with different levels of involvement
  • benchmarks for quality of algorithms in artificial intelligence
  • end-to-end validation of intelligent systems.

The planning project shall clarify which means can be pursued in a main project, and which additional disciplines are required to achieve these goals.

 

Project period

May 2019 – April 2020

 

Project partners

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller
Technische Universität Braunschweig
Carl-Friedrich-Gauß-Fakultät
Institute for Mathematical Optimization

Prof. Dr. Wolf-Tilo Balke
Technische Universität Braunschweig
Carl-Friedrich-Gauß Fakultät
Institute for Information Systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ina Schaefer
Technische Universität Braunschweig
Computer Science
Institute of Software Engineering and Automotive Informatics

 

Funded by

 


Photo: “Datamaskiner arbeidssituasjoner Norsk Data” by Bratland, Nina / Telemuseet is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0
Published: May 1, 2019
Category: news

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

AlgorithmWatch is supported by

News

AlgorithmWatch erhält Planning Grant der Volkswagen Stiftung

Neues Projekt von AlgorithmWatch und der TU Braunschweig widmet sich strukturellen Kompetenzlücken beim Einsatz von "KI" im Personalwesen.

Die Volkswagen Stiftung fördert ab Mai 2019 ein Planungsprojekt von AlgorithmWatch und der Technischen Universität Braunschweig, das sich strukturellen Kompetenzlücken beim Einsatz von “KI” im Personalwesen widmet. Das Projekt Bridging the structural competence gap for AI in HR wird im Rahmen Initiative Künstliche Intelligenz – Ihre Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft von morgen gefördert. Gemeinsam mit dem Institut für Mathematische Optimierung, dem Institut für Informationssysteme und dem Institut für Softwaretechnik und Fahrzeuginformatik der TU Braunschweig identifizieren und entwickeln wir Instrumente, die es ermöglichen sollen, automatisierte Entscheidungen im Personalmanagement mit der erforderlichen Kompetenz einzusetzen.

 

Über das Projekt

Der Einsatz algorithmischer Entscheidungsfindung und Entscheidungsunterstützung im Personalwesen, insbesondere durch sogenannte Künstliche Intelligenz, ist ein Paradebeispiel dafür, dass Algorithmen die Gesellschaft als Ganzes und den Alltag von Individuen in hochsensiblen Bereichen maßgeblich beeinflussen. Die Gesellschaft hat ausgewogene Entscheidungsprozesse entwickelt, um Arbeitsrechte, Unternehmensinteressen und Datenschutz zu gewährleisten. Die mangelnde Kompetenz für Algorithmen, insbesondere für “Künstliche Intelligenz”, kann bei der Einführung algorithmischer Entscheidungen oder Entscheidungshilfen im Personalwesen dazu führen, dass diese legitimen Prozesse nicht mehr angemessen funktionieren. Die Verantwortung für diese bisweilen mangelnde Kompetenz ist nicht bei Einzelnen zu suchen, weil sie es versäumen, sich ausreichende Informationen zu beschaffen. Häufig ist der Anbieter algorithmischer Lösungen nicht in der Lage, relevante Details zu erklären. Standards und Bewertungsinstrumente sind nicht verfügbar. Die Kompetenzlücke ist struktureller Natur.

Das Projekt basiert auf der Überzeugung, dass die rechtmäßigen Entscheidungsprozesse nicht ersetzt oder umgangen werden dürfen. Ziel des Projekts ist es, Mittel zur Überwindung dieser Lücke zu identifizieren und diese zum Teil zu entwickeln, zum Beispiel:

  • Einen Fragenkatalog zur Qualität und Anwendbarkeit von Algorithmen
  • Kompetenzkataloge für Nutzer unterschiedlicher Beteiligungsgrade
  • Richtwerte für die Qualität von Algorithmen in der “Künstlichen Intelligenz”
  • End-to-End-Validierung intelligenter Systeme

Das Planungsprojekt soll klären, welche Mittel in einem Hauptprojekt weiterverfolgt werden können und welche zusätzlichen Disziplinen erforderlich sind.

 

Projektpartner*innen

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller
Technische Universität Braunschweig
Carl-Friedrich-Gauß-Fakultät
Institut für Mathematische Optimierung

Prof. Dr. Wolf-Tilo Balke
Technische Universität Braunschweig
Carl-Friedrich-Gauß Fakultät
Institut für Informationssysteme

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ina Schaefer
Technische Universität Braunschweig
Computer Science
Institut für Softwaretechnik und Fahrzeuginformatik

 

Projektzeitraum

Mai 2019 bis April 2020

 

Gefördert von

 


Foto: “Datamaskiner arbeidssituasjoner Norsk Data” by Bratland, Nina / Telemuseet is licensed under CC BY-SA 4.0
Veröffentlicht: 1. 5. 2019
Kategorie: News

Kommentieren

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

AlgorithmWatch wird gefördert durch